Our Team

Our interdisciplinary team

The project is run by Dr. Vivek Venkatesh –UNESCO co-Chair in Prevention of Radicalisation and Violent Extremism, and Associate Professor of Inclusive Practices in Visual Arts in the Department of Art Education at the Faculty of Fine Arts, Concordia University. Since the start of the project, Venkatesh has been assisted by an interdisciplinary team of SOMEONE researchers and researcher-practitioners most notably, Ms. Kathryn Urbaniak, Dr. Tieja Thomas, Dr. Nicole Fournier-Sylvester, Dr. Sandra Chang-Kredl, Dr. Jihan Rabah, Dr. Juan Carlos Castro, Dr. Owen Chapman, Dr. Ketra Schmitt, Dr. Jason Wallin, Dr. Jeffrey Podoshen, Dr. Robert McGray, Dr. Ayaz Naseem, Dr. Adeela Arshad-Ayaz, Dr. Martin Lalonde, and Ms. Sarmista Das.

Our team members are from all four faculties at Concordia, as well as Champlain College (Montréal), the University of Alberta (Edmonton), and Franklin & Marshall College (Lancaster, Pennsylvania). Our project brings researchers and practitioners with a wide range of expertise including consumer consumption and cultural theory, peace education, terrorism risk assessment, psychoanalytics, social and public pedagogy, feminism, citizen education, discourse analysis, classroom usage of social media, and art education.

Announcement of Community Resilience Fund award to Project SOMEONE – September 2017

Back row, left to right: Marc Miller Member of Parliament (Ville-Marie — Le Sud-Ouest — Île-des-Soeurs); Nicole Fournier-Sylvester; Vivek Venkatesh; Justin Powlowski (Associate Vice-President, Research & Graduate Studies, Concordia University).
Front row, left to right: Jihan Rabah; Kathryn Urbaniak; Juan Carlos-Castro.

(Photo credit: Concordia University. All rights reserved.)


Vivek Venkatesh, Robert McGray, Tieja Thomas, Jihan Rabah, Kathryn Urbaniak

Executive Committee 2017-2019

Vivek Venkatesh: Director & Principal Investigator

Kathryn Urbaniak: Manager & Co-Principal Investigator

Jihan Rabah, Tieja Thomas: Co-Principal Investigators

Sandra Chang-Kredl, Nicole Fournier-Sylvester (2017-2018): Co-Investigators

Additional Researchers: Adeela Arshad-Ayaz, Amy Swiffen, Andre Gagne, Ayaz Naseem, Brad Nelson, David Hall, David Morin, Ghayda Hassan, Jason Wallin, Jeff Podoshen, Jessie L. Beier, Juan Carlos Castro, Ketra Schmitt,  Martin Lalonde, Owen Chapman, Robert McGray, Sarmista Das,  Tasleem Budwani   

Post-doctoral Fellows: Jihan Rabah (2016-2018), Ryan Scrivens (2017-2019), Danny Mamlok (2018-2020), Maxime Bérubé  (2019-2020), Méi-Ra St-Laurent (2020-2022)

Research Assistants: Ehsan Akbari, Emma Haraké, Jennifer Faucher, Jihene Hichri , Katherine Pauls, Léah Snider, Manasvini Narayana, Marie-Pierre Labrie, Milagros Lopez Daglio, Rawda Harb, Racha Cheikh-Ibrahim, Ramya Panchacharam, Stephanie Kozak


Past Interns and Research Assistants: Laurie-Anne Beaulieu, Christopher Dufort, Colleen Leonard, Marc-Antoine Bertrand,  Michelle Savard, Peter Dimitrakopoulos